Hungry No More: Lobster Salad with Homemade Avocado Cilantro-Lime dressing

lobstersalad_2

No, in my absence I haven’t resorted to snapping photos of Saladworks creations. This, my dear friends, is a lobster salad with a homemade avocado cilantro-lime dressing!

The lobster and dressing are leftovers from a wonderful Valentine’s Day dinner that my boyfriend Shawn cooked for me. By the way, I can’t imagine that it surprises anyone that I’m dating someone who loves to cook.

This salad is eeeeasy to throw together with some mixed salad greens, chopped carrots, grape tomatoes and leftover lobster meat. I’d wager that you could throw leftover chicken or shrimp in here too and wind up with something just as delicious. Shawn has been less than forthcoming with his recipe for the salad dressing… but, I’d put my money on it looking something like this –

1 haas avocado, peeled, & in pieces
2 handfuls of fresh cilantro, washed & dried
2 heaping Tbsp mayonnaise (I used canola mayo)
¼ c. fresh lime juice
10 shakes Tapatillo hot sauce
2 Tbsp. macadamia nut oil

I found this on a DiscussCooking.com forum. I’d say this is really close, since I snuck a few peaks into the kitchen and saw the mayo, cilantro, limes and avocados hanging out with my blender before it came together in a whirrrr. Of course, it’s really easy to tweak this to your liking so tweak away! I like mine with lots of zing from the lime.

Originally Shawn’s version of the salad contained orange slices, and let me tell ya, they took the dish over the top. That bright, sweet citrus combined with the tangy dressing and chunks of lobster… sooooo good. However, I didn’t have any oranges left in the house by the time I recreated it for dinner last week.

Confession: I don’t have photos of the food from my dinner, really. I tried. But the lights were out and the coffee table was aglow with about 20 little tea lights. A la this

candles

So, after snapping a few more pictures like this in between courses I set my camera aside and enjoyed — oh, and did I ever — the food and Shawn’s company.

The meal started with a ginger carrot soup garnished with a bit of cilantro. The soup’s silky texture was courtesy of my *new* immersion blender! A very fitting Valentine’s Day gift indeed.

31mdjzqp5xl_aa280_

I’ve been wielding that thing in the kitchen like a light saber, looking for things to puree, blend and soupefy since last Saturday. Smoothies come together in seconds! Really! I couldn’t love this thing more.

The second course was a rendition of the salad you see above, yummy citrus included. And then! The finale course! Was Chinese five spice sauteed red snapper over some portabela mushrooms in a port reduction with spicy sweet potato fries on the side.

I haven’t gotten many details about the recipes out of him just yet. Trying not to spoil the mystique, I suppose. But, I can tell you that we find a reason to cook every time we see each other on the weekends and the meals are always oh so gooood.

If I have it my way, we’ll be getting a lot of mileage out of my brand new copy of Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything.” It’s the kind of comprehensive mammoth of a book that could make any culinista weak in the knees and ready to throw dinner parties at the drop of a hat. I picked up a copy of the vegetarian version of his lengthy tome for Shawn, so it looks like Bittman will be joining us in the kitchen often.

I can already highly recommend Bittman’s take on cheesecake, which includes a vanilla/sour cream layer on top. It’s an incredibly forgiving recipe. The day after we made it, we realized we hadn’t left it in the oven quite long enough. So back in it went and came out tasting — once it had been chilled — phenomenal.

Anyway, here’s to a not so hungry student and an always eating and cooking couple. 🙂

lobstersalad_5

2 Responses to Hungry No More: Lobster Salad with Homemade Avocado Cilantro-Lime dressing

  1. Josh Gager says:

    That looks so good that I’ve begun toying with the idea of licking my computer screen in hopes that I might somehow get a taste. : )

  2. Lost Blogger says:

    The standard student meal for us was always spaghetti bolognese, wish i was better in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

