There’s a photography book giveaway at ZestyCook!

Cory, otherwise known as ZestyCook, will be giving away two copies of “Fundamentals of Photography” by Tom Ang!

According to his review, the book offers tips useful to both beggining and advanced photogs shooting film or digital cameras. It includes 11 chapters which are broken down into brief (usually two-page), easy to digest sections. In short, if you take photos at all, this book should be on your shelf. Check out his post here to find out how to enter!

41dogo9onvl_ss500_

Read about the camera I shoot with and browse my list of food photography 101 favorites after the jump.

I currently shoot with one these:

244917

It’s a Canon PowerShot SX10IS. A fantastic birthday gift from my mother and brother, who’s a Best Buy employee. He made sure I had the best warranty possible, a spiffy camera bag and a 2 GB memory card as well.

8942843_ra

I’m not quite ready for a DSLR, so this is the perfect camera for me. Hopefully in a year or so I’ll be able to gift myself a DSLR. I am trying to procure a tripod before I start my spring semester though.

Although I would love, love, love to win the “Fundamentals of Photography” giveaway, I would also appreciate any tips specific to food photography from some fellow bloggers.

I’ve gathered so far that aperture is key and using lots of natural light helps too. Shooting the food while it’s still hot makes a difference, from what I can tell. Sauces and cheeses that look melty and delicious when they’re still hot usually look a little congealed and not so delectable once things have cooled off.

For the purposes of blogging, I’ve also noticed others’ posts I admire most include photos of the process and not just the final product. However, it’s not always easy to move about the kitchen with my camera hanging around my neck. Nor is it easy to find safe places to set it down when things are a-blaze on the stove or whirring in the food processor.

But, I try. And know that if a recipe takes me a bit longer to complete because I’ve been taking photos, I’ll be that much happier to put together my post later.

So far, I’ve found these posts particularly helpful:

VeganYumYum’s post on Food Photography for Bloggers

David Leibowitz’s post on My Food Photography Gear

Digital Photography School’s article on Food Photography – An Introduction

101 Cookbook’s post on Food Photography Tips

Well, off to do some more work on grad school applications. The Boston Globe internship I mentioned earlier on here didn’t work out, so I’ve taken my GREs and am sending out apps to a few master’s programs I’m interested in.

I’ll also be revving up my ongoing job search since I will be graduating this May. I want to make sure that if enough funding doesn’t come through for grad school, I’ll still have some options available.

If anyone reading is in the news industry, whether you can offer me a job or not, I would love to chat! There’s a lot going on right now and I think there’s lots to be said about how journalism will change this year and in the years to come. Leave a comment, or e-mail me at stacy.a.jones@gmail.com and put “Hungry Student” in the subject line so I know how you found me.

Thanks, and as always, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

